This is letting go.

There are no words for how much I’ve learned, grown, experienced, and expanded my understanding since I became involved in activism during the first Operation Payback against MasterCard, Visa and PayPal. I’ll try, though.

I have images of revolution burned into my memory, water cannons being blasted against Egyptians while they interrupted battles against Mubarak’s forces to pray. My heart still swells with joy when I remember the feeling of elation when Mubarak stepped down, remember the massive numbers in the streets during UK UnCut’s protest, the European Acampanadas, the US occupantions, the Dec 17 Horizon protests; remember the support for Julian Assange, and his corresponding support for Anonymous. My heart still clenches when I remember Mo and his sacrifice, and that he represented so many Libyans, as well as Syrians, Bahrainis; remember the images of pain, the helplessness and overwhelmed emotions that we’ve all felt at one point or another.

But everything happens for a reason.

I’m one of the people, one of the 99%, however broad that phrase may be. I know my potential and I’ve accepted that as a responsibility to make this world a better place, whether that means reform, which I increasingly believe is unrealistic, or a complete overturn of what we consider normal. I’m not walking away from activism, and I’m far from walking away from my commitment to change. But in order to become as internally involved as possible, I have to walk away from here.

We are Anonymous. We are your students, teachers, postal workers, waitresses. We’re anyone and everyone. We’re on the outside, as well as the inside.

-astrid

About astriddare

I’m 18. Sometimes I go to a podunk high school. My heart beats for punk rock. I can play both sides of a debate and you’ll never know which one I’m really on – the clinical diagnosis is Borderline, but most people just call it manipulative. Most of the time it helps, but sometimes it's an identity crisis.

Leave a Reply

